100 Court Square, Marion, AR 72364
Tel: (870) 739-4434
Fax: (870) 739-3072
WHAT DOES THE COUNTY CLERK DO?
The Crittenden County Clerk is the official bookkeeper of the county government. Some responsibilities of the office include:
Elections & Voting
We are responsible for voter registration, as well as absentee and early voting at the Courthouse.
Licenses & Certificates
We issue marriage licenses, DBA certificates, and ministers' certificates of record. We also file and maintain Nurses' and Physicians' credentials and licenses, and we keep a record of all fictitious business names in the county.
We serve as the clerk for the County Court and Circuit Court Probate Division and as secretary to the Equalization Board.
Marriage licenses may be obtained during normal business hours, Monday-Friday, 9:00am-5:00pm
What to Bring
Applicants must be present and together when applying for the license,
Must be 18 years of age or older without parental consent. You may contact our office at (870) 739-4434 for underage requirements.
Must present a valid government issued photo identification; such as a driver’s license, passport or military identification
The fee for a marriage license is $60.00 cash only; no checks or credit cards.
A Marriage License is valid for sixty (60) days and must be returned to be recorded, whether used or unused, within 60 days of issuance.
Minister and Justice of the Peace Information
Ministers performing marriages in the State of Arkansas must have their credentials recorded with a County Clerk’s Office in the State of Arkansas prior to performing a wedding ceremony.
You can register your minister’s credentials in person or by mail by submitting the following:
Original Certificate of Ordination or License. If your church does not ordain, we will also accept an original letter on church letterhead stating that the minister has the capacity to perform weddings signed by church elders. We do not accept anything with an expiration date.
$5.00 filing fee, cash only; no checks or credit cards.
How Do I Vote?
You must be registered to vote under the correct name and address. To check your voting registration or to find polling places, click here.
To register to vote, you must:
Be a U.S. citizen
Be an Arkansas resident (residing in Arkansas at least 30days before the first election in which you will vote).
Be 18 or turn 18 on or before the next election.
Not be convicted of a felony without your sentence having been discharged or pardoned.
Not be presently adjudged mentally incompetent as to your ability to vote by a court of competent jurisdiction.
Must not claim the right to vote in any other county or state
Apply via mail:
Complete and return the Arkansas Voter Registration Application.
IMPORTANT: If your voter registration application form is submitted by mail and you are registering for the first time, and you do not have a valid Arkansas driver’s license number or social security number, in order to avoid the additional identification requirements upon voting for the first time you must submit with the mailed registration form: (a) a current and valid photo identification; or (b) a copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check, paycheck, or other government document that shows your name and address.
Apply in person at your local:
County Clerk’s office
State Revenue Office
Military recruitment office
Arkansas National Guard
Voter registration drive
How Do I Know I'm Registered?
Consider yourself registered when - and only when - you receive an acknowledgment from your county clerk. This could take several weeks, regardless of your method of application.
If you do not receive a notice within two weeks of applying, call our office at (870) 739-4434 or go to voterview.ar-nova.org to check the status of your application.
You must submit your application to an official voter registration agency or mail it no later than 30 days prior to an election in which you wish to vote. The postmark on a mailed application will be its submission date. If you are changing your residence to another county within the state, your updated registration must be received in the county clerk’s office in the new county not later than four days before a scheduled election.